Ruddy Beans and Rice

Took a trip down to N’awlins last April.  Fell in love like I never thought possible.  Cajun food, creole queens, and Dixieland music! I tell you wha’, it was mighty fine, chère.

Here’s my take on a NOLA classic.

1-2 smoked sausage, cut small
1 can red kidney (or an equal portion of your favourite dried red beans, rehydrated.)
1 can black beans (Or double the amount of red beans you use)
5 celery stalks, chopped, leaves and all
1 large onion, chopped fine
1 green pepper, chopped small
Pickled or fresh banana peppers, to taste.
1 small can tomato paste.
1 bottle of  lager (I used Miller Lime)
1 tbsp chili powder
All the cayenne you can handle.
A few good dashes of Worcestershire sauce.

I used couple of good squeezes of ketchup, but a touch of honey and more tomato paste would do well, too.

I sautéed the sausages and onion in a bit of olive oil for a few minutes, then I added everything else.  Warmed it over medium low heat and let it bubble down to the desired consistency, tweaking flavours as I went.  Cayenne was added while this was happening.
Serve over a white rice of your choice, and wash down with a Budweiser or an Abita Bitter.  Oh, and here’s a dinner music suggestion.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CMz9WX1pfI

One Response to “Ruddy Beans and Rice”

Leave a comment